You may have a new job opportunity and are eager to start work. However, while driving home after celebrating with friends at a local bar, law enforcement stopped you on suspicion of DUI.
Now you face fines, penalty points and suspension of your driving privileges. How will you get to that new job?
In the state of Alabama, an arrest for driving under the influence of alcohol is a serious matter. For a first offense, you face a fine of $600 to $2,100 or up to a year in jail plus the suspension of your driving privileges. If you have a second DUI conviction, the fine will be between $1,100 and $5,100, jail time of 48 hours or 20 hours of community service and driver’s license revocation.
Learning about the point system
The point system in Alabama attaches demerit points to your driving record according to certain moving violations. For example, if you are ticketed for following too closely, the DMV will add three points to your record and for failure to yield the right of way it will be five points. With a conviction for DUI, the addition will be six points.
Challenging your arrest
You can challenge your arrest for DUI and, with the help of an advocate, bring your case to trial. If successful, fighting a charge of driving under the influence will keep those penalty points off your record. Options are also available to help restore your driving privileges so you will be on time to start your new job.